Lisa Miles: A Creative Rebel!

Let me tell you one reason (of many) why Lisa Miles is one of my favorite creative rebels. Her and her husband have fostered over 35 foster kids! This energetic woman doesn’t stop there either. She is a writer, angel card reader, runs a business, and is the mom of two of the cutest boys. Recently she has added founder of Creative Rebel Studios, home of her life coaching business and founded the Creative Rebel online magazine to her fabulous list of talents.

When I met Lisa a year and a half ago, I knew she was this fun bundle of energy. A woman who follows her heart and puts it into everything she does from homeschooling to writing to leading a rebel tribe into the field of creativity, is a person that the world needs to know. Her joy from reaching out to others is visible in the words she uses and light she brings into a conversation. Lisa offers reliable insight into the lives of those who are stuck and need to little nudge and inspires others in her pursuit of her own rebellious dreams.

What is the Creative Rebels Tribe? Who is a typical “Creative Rebel”?

The Creative Rebels Tribe is a group of creative women who support each other through creative endeavors and life in general. We share the projects we’re working on, give advice when asked, and help each other through difficult times.

A typical creative rebel has an sensitive soul, creative spirit, and a wild side.

They’re open to trying new things they didn’t think they could do, and are supportive of their fellow creatives.

How does one join the Creative Rebels Tribe? What does supporting each persons creative projects typically look like?

You can join the Creative Rebels Tribe group on Facebook. I also run a secret Rebel Writers group on Facebook that you have to be invited to be added. I keep it secret because the writers like to have a safe place to share their work without worrying about it being copied.

When I say supporting each persons creative projects, I mean women post what they’re working on and we give feedback. It’s usually good feedback since the women are so talented. But sometimes they need a confidence boost, or need help brainstorming ideas for a story. We also promote each others’ work by sharing on our personal pages, or buying products from each other. It’s a very supportive community that I don’t even have “rules” for since we’ve never needed them. I, along with a few others, also offer free angel card readings once in a while on there.

I know you are a writer and creativity coach. What do you write? Feel free to talk about any published writings.  What current creative projects are you working on?

It took me a while to find my writing niche, but I love writing young adult novels. I currently have two in the works in different stages. A few years ago I co-wrote a short screenplay that was filmed and played in a local film festival (my first big paying writing gig). And I also wrote and directed my own short film.

I actually have links to the films on the right hand side of my website (way down at the bottom). It’s funny because looking back at what I wrote, I sometimes cringe. I think that’s normal with a lot of writers. We get better the more we write
The titles of the movies were Thanksgiving and The Drug Dealer.

Why did you choose creativity coaching over other forms of coaching? Does your coaching influence your writing or how you write or does writing influence your coaching style?

It took me a long time to figure out my coaching niche as well. I studied coaching through Anthony Robbins a few years ago. He is amazing and the training was intense. When I was still studying and doing free coaching sessions, I was stressing myself out trying to be like him…which if you’ve ever seen him, you know is impossible. I felt like by trying to coach that way, there was no room for creativity to be included in what I was doing. I was trying to memorize his teachings and apply them, and I was miserable. (As a side note, I know many coaches from his training that are incredible at what they do. He is a genius and I learned a ton, but that style of coaching just wasn’t for me.)

Then I tried relationship coaching (using Tony’s methods) and it was definitely a better fit, but it still wasn’t IT. I read a lot about finding my passion and every single time it came down to the same things: writing and creating. So, I began coaching for creative people who were stuck.
My coaching definitely influences my writing. I read SO many book on writing, creativity, manifesting, time management, etc. I am constantly reading one or two books at a time. I apply what I read to my own life before sharing it with anyone else.

Do you apply some of your skills from his training to your creative coaching? Can you give me a quick description of a typical client?

One of my favorite things I learned from Tony was the Six Human Needs. They are six basic needs we have as humans that drive us and make us tick. We all have the same needs, but how we value those needs and in what order determines our life direction.

A typical client is a someone who has a desire to create but doesn’t know where to start, or is in the middle of a project and stuck on where to go next, or has a hard time managing her time to create.

What is your personal favorite form of creative expression? What creative pursuits do you do for fun to unplug? Also, I know you and your husband have been foster parents to over 35 children, how has that influenced your ability to be creative? How did you find time?

My absolute favorite form of creating is writing. I’ve been doing it since I was little and it’s just “me.”

To unplug or wind down I usually read about creating, coaching, or writing. I also keep a “character” notebook and love to create characters for stories. Then, when I’m working on a story, I flip through it and see who I can use. People-watching is another favorite thing…I get some great character sketches that way.
I admit it wasn’t always easy to be creative being foster parents. We did it for over ten years and recently quit. For the last year we did emergency care for ages 0-12, and we’d get kids at all hours of the day/night. What I would do to keep being creative is include the kids. Since I also homeschool, I have a lot of arts and crafts supplies. I’d bring out age-appropriate materials and let them go nuts. Then I’d  sit with them and write or create along with them.

Who inspires you? Who/what are your go to resources when you are stuck?

My two biggest inspirations right now are Steven Pressfield and Steve Chandler. They’re both motivational experts (I think they’re experts) and if I’m ever feeling unsure of myself, their books pump me right back up. And I use their teachings in my coaching. I also love other creative women like Leonie Dawson – she reminds me to be myself and not to succumb to pressure to be like other coaches/creatives. For example, I get flack for this from other coaches, but instead of offering a free 15-30 minute “get to know you” session in my coaching, I offer a free 1.5 – 2 hour conversation. It’s really important to me to connect with a person who is having a difficult time.
My goal is to help people right THEN, during our conversation.
I feel like if I can help someone when I’m first meeting them, they’ll come back if something else comes up, or they’ll want to continue on a bigger level. Then we can discuss payment, etc.

That’s a good philosophy to have. Do you find typically that a person engages in coaching sessions once or twice or maybe a month? How do you typically set up a program or is it very individualized?

I like to individualize programs for people. Some people need/want a lot of communication between sessions and I’m totally open to that. And others just want our monthly (sometimes weekly or bi-weekly) sessions.
I like to include challenges (a better word for “homework”), get their goals in writing, and have the open communication for accountability purposes.

What is one piece of advice you would give to a new Creative Rebel?

Be free. For so long I’d worry what other people thought about what I wrote or attempted to draw. Let yourself go and just create. And if you feel that strong urge to create but don’t know what to work on, try sitting and being quiet for a while. It’ll come to you.

Switching topics. You have 2 big adventures coming up: traveling and an online magazine.

Please tell me about your adventure to sell your house and travel with your kids? What inspired this? (To me it is a TOTALLY creative rebel thing to do)

It’s crazy because for so long I wanted the big house, lots of room, and a yard. And after having that, now I want the total opposite. I am addicted to listening to podcasts and one of my favorites is about homeschooling by two roadschool moms. (Families who RV full time). Last October I said to my husband, “We should totally sell everything we own, buy an RV and travel with the kids,” and he said, “Ok.” It was that simple.
As of right now our house is up for sale and we’re basically waiting for a buyer. We’ve gotten rid of about 75% of our stuff (and that feels SO good!)
I’m most looking forward to not being tied down and living with much less. When you’re paring down to live in a 30 foot trailer, you realize how much crap you hang on to. We’re only bringing what we really love. Not to mention the experience for us and the kids to see our country.

As a homeschooler already, that is the ultimate schooling. The Doing instead of reading about.

What inspired you to start an online magazine?

I was reading an online magazine on coaching, and at the bottom of a page it read “Start your own e-magazine!” That sounded like fun, so I looked into it more, then contacted an acquaintance, Shai Ford, who is the co-ceo of an online mag and got some great advice from her. I knew the women in my tribe would tell me if it was a crazy idea, but within a few days I already had submissions coming in. (I remember you posting about it. It is a crazy idea, but a great crazy idea and I Love it.)

 What will the focus of the magazine be?

The magazine focuses on creativity, and whatever that means to you. The contributors vary from writers, artists, bakers, musicians, public relations, and more. My goal is keep creativity alive in ourselves, especially when we’re feeling stuck or blocked. I love learning how other creatives deal with their fears, and we can learn from each other.

 How can people find and subscribe to your magazine?

It will be on my website. The first issue is free.

Who/ What surprises might you have in store for your readers?

Some of the biggest surprises so far are the “big” creative geniuses that I have agreed to contribute to the magazine in the form of articles and columnists. I’m loving the excitement and participation of those working with me on this project.

What is your favorite all out, no holding back meal or date? What is one place you would love most to travel to?

This will sound lame and terrible because I’m vegan, but my favorite meal has always been cold cuts (ham, turkey, salami, cheese on a roll), chips, and Coke. A favorite date will always be a movie, and I’d love to travel to Italy and meet family.

lisa milesLisa Marie Miles the owner of Creative Rebel Studios offering her talent and skills as a Life Coach for rebel creatives, writers and artists. Lisa is also the founder of the magazine Creative Rebel. She is an explorer and adventurer that loves to create life-changing coaching sessions by having long conversations with women who are ready for a change and writing for the creative rebel in everyone.

Creative Rebel Coaching     Creative Rebel Tribe

