Ten Minute Tuesday: People Watching

The Creating Room

Some of my most interesting ideas, stories, and characters come from sitting down in the middle of a coffee shop or mall, basically anywhere with people coming and going, having conversations, etc. People watching is one activity that is all about contemplative observation.
My current favorite place to go is my little local Starbucks near my house. It is one of the smallest stores in the area but gets huge amounts of foot traffic as people head off to work and on the weekends. There are also some regulars that come by and take up a few tables. Usually interesting characters stop by and chat with them. I make it a point to sit quietly (with coffee, of course) and watch the ebb and flow. I notice movement, not just what they are saying, but how they are saying it. I make mental notes and sometimes, I catch lines that…

View original post 308 more words

